+61 2 9894 6811 info@iap-aus.org.au

The Distinguished Pathologist Award

The Distinguished Pathologist Medal is awarded by the Australasian Division International Academy of Pathology (IAP) each year to a pathologist who has made an outstanding contribution to the discipline of anatomical pathology Australasian Division International Academy of Pathology (IAP).

For 2023, the Distinguished Pathologist Medial has been awarded to Proforssor Richard Scolyer AO.


Professor Richard Scolyer AO

Professor Richard Scolyer BMedSci, MBBS, MD FRCPA FRCPath FAHMS is Senior Staff Specialist, Tissue Pathology and Diagnostic Oncology, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney; Conjoint Medical Director, Melanoma Institute Australia; and Clinical Professor, The University of Sydney.

He is a Past President of the Australasian Division of the International Academy of Pathology. He provides a clinical consultation service for the diagnosis of difficult pigmented lesions and receives more 2000 cases for opinion from Australasia and beyond annually. His record includes co-authoring more than 500 publications with >30,000 citations. Richard has presented on more than 300 occasions at conferences throughout the world. He received various NSW Premier’s Awards for Outstanding Cancer Research in 2009, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018, Thomson Reuters 2015 Citation Award in the Clinical Medicine category, the 2018 William O. Russell/Joanne Vandenberge Hill Award in Anatomical Pathology, MD Anderson Cancer Center and the Research Australia’s 2018 GSK Award for Research Excellence. Richard was editor, 4th Edition World Health Organisation Classification of Tumours Skin Tumours in which he was responsible for 3 of the 6 sections and authored/co-authored more than 30 chapters. He is also Vice Chair of the Melanoma Expert Panel of the American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) for the 8th edition of AJCC Cancer Staging System, co-leads the Australian Melanoma Genome Project (part of the International Cancer Genome Consortium). He is also an editorial board member of the American Journal of Surgical Pathology, Modern Pathology, Histopathology, Senior Associate Editor of Pathology and several other journals.